Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Munro Letters: 1917 Sept 16: George Brock Chisholm to Melville Munro.
Abstract Arthur Melville "Porky" Munro writes to his mother, Jessie, from his camp in France. He talks about the weather and camp conditions, and thanks several people back home for sending him some cake and socks in the mail. He mentions that some friends from Oakville are heading out to the front the next day.
Date 1917/09/16
Collection Private Arthur Melville Munro Letters WW1 1917-1918
Letter Transcript France
Sept. 16th, 1917

Dear Mother,
On Thursday I got that long expected box, the one with the sox in it and cake. The cake certainly was good. The best I've tasted for a long time. The sox to are "jake" and all the rest of the junk as well. It's nice to get some Canadian chocolate.
What I have seen in France isn't so bad, but of course I haven't seen much of it. I haven't even heard the guns go off. There is a big hospital right next to us and one a couple of miles

(PAGE 2)
away with thousands of wounded men in it. I am still at the M.G. base and expect to be here for a week or more. Claude Hager Cowan and Kenneth Brown are leaving to-day for the front. Some more Oakville boys are going too.
The busiest railway I was ever near is about 50 yds from our tent. Hundreds of trains go up and down every day loaded with motor trucks, big guns, men and all kinds of war supplies. This morning we saw quite a few German prisoners on one of the trains.
(PAGE 3)
The weather since we came here has been fine. Not a bit of rain. I only hope that it keeps up for a while.
I haven't had any mail since I reached here except that box but expect some any time.
We get fed pretty well over here and I am thriving. Thank Mrs. Freestone and Mrs. Cordingly for the cake. Are they the ones that made it? I forget, but thank whoever it was and also thank Mrs. Stead for the sox.

Love to all,
Your loving son,
Melville.
Search Terms World War I
Munro
Oakville
Letter
Europe
France
Creator Arthur Melville Munro
Object Name Letter
Catalog Number 2017.22.132